Daily Prompt: My Funniest Relationship Disaster

A Rose for A Kiss

When I met my guy I was five years sober; clean and serene.  For four years we had our routines and things flowed along really well.  Then one day I picked up a drink after nine years of plugging the demons.  The next day I was laying on the couch when Wayne came up to me.  I thought oh no and then my insides twisted.  He was staying with my eyes, he was understanding, and somewhat tip-toeing.  I can be defensive over blame and flak.  He was understanding and later I let him know that I was sorry; that my goal was to get sober again.  This is not an easy task for me.  Well as it turns out Wayne has a taste for alcohol also, which I had seen in him when I met him.  For a little over three years we were on a road trip and had enough laughs at getting sober again to probably write a book.  One of the funniest was when Wayne started trying to woo me into sobriety because we couldn’t afford for us both to drink.  We both still get a laugh out of it.  The disaster in all of this was our daily life being disrupted by these glutinous demons that were drinking away our livelihood, and our health. 

Leave a Reply

